Author Topic: How to remove metadata from PDF  (Read 243 times)

pdfhelp

How to remove metadata from PDF
« on: April 09, 2019, 01:46:52 PM »
Hello, super noob here.  Have just about zero understanding of computer code.  I know how to open and read the data with the application, but not remove.  I'm sure it's more simple than I think.  Just looking to remove XMP Toolkit and have the creation time the same as modification time. 

Thank you!

Phil Harvey

• ExifTool Author
  • Administrator
  • ExifTool Freak
    • ExifTool Home Page
Re: How to remove metadata from PDF
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2019, 01:53:53 PM »
(Assuming you are on Windows...) The simplest thing to do would be to rename "exiftool(-k).exe" to "exiftool(-xmptoolkit= -P -k).exe", then drag and drop files and folders onto the app to do what you requested.

But note that ExifTool doesn't actually remove metadata from a PDF, so edits like this are reversible.  You need to run a utility such as qpdf afterwards to remove the old metadata.  See the top of the PDF tag documentation for details.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

pdfhelp

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2019, 01:58:37 PM »
Thanks for the quick reply.  And sorry again for what I assume are things you've heard 100x.  Yes, I am using Windows 10. 

I just did that and it saved the file automatically as .PDF_Origional.  How do I get that to be a PDF?

StarGeek

• Global Moderator
  • ExifTool Freak
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2019, 02:01:22 PM »
I just did that and it saved the file automatically as .PDF_Origional.  How do I get that to be a PDF?

That's just the backup file.  If you check the main file, you'll see that the data has been removed.  Add -overwrite_original to prevent the creation of backup files.
Troubleshooting hints: