Author Topic: How to include multiple regular expressions in a ValueConv expression?  (Read 3537 times)

CWCorrea

Hello Phil,

First, thank you very much for such fine application as ExifTool. Now I cannot imagine my life without it. Second, please bear with me as I'm totally new to Perl (actually I started learning about regular expressions and Perl just because ExifTool), and third, please excuse me for the long post.

Now, this is what I would like to do:

I have several thousand pictures taken with different cameras and I would like to sort them by camera make and model. I reviewed the ExifTool documentation and several examples in the ExifTool Forum and I understand how to do it. As several pictures have the Model tag with not-valid characters for my filesystem (btw, I use OS X Snow Leopard), I decided to create an user defined tag called MyModel with a regex that deletes any character not valid for me (I used one example that you gave us in the forum).

Code: [Select]
%Image::ExifTool::UserDefined = (
    'Image::ExifTool::Composite' => {
        MyModel => {
            Require => 'Model',
ValueConv => '$val =~ s/[^A-Za-z0-9\-\_\.\,\(\)\ ]//g; $val',
        },
    },
);
1;  #end

Using the MyModel tag works well, but I don't like the end result so I decided to find a way to process the Model tag contents to suit my taste and needs. For this, I created a list of unique models with the following command:

exiftool -s -r -T -Model . | sort -u > models.txt

Then I wrote a small Perl script to apply some regular expressions to the list of camera models:

#!/usr/bin/perl -w
#

use strict;
use warnings;

my $InFile;
my $argnum;

foreach $argnum (0 .. $#ARGV) {
$InFile = $ARGV[$argnum];
open FILE, $InFile or die $!;
while (<FILE>) {
my($model) = $_;
chomp($model);
#
# Remove non-printable characters
#
$model =~ s/[^[:print:]]+//g;
# Remove excess horizontal and vertical whitespace
# e.g.: "DC200      (V01.00)" gets transformed into "DC200 (V01.00)"
#