Author Topic: Apply workspace defaults to a new file  (Read 598 times)

touchofart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Apply workspace defaults to a new file
« on: January 07, 2019, 04:32:40 AM »
Newbie to exiftool & GUI.

I know how to delete all metadata from a file, also how to create and save a workspace with default values.

Since GUI is no longer supported, how do I copy my workspace defaults to another file(s).

Also in my GUI "about", I get a message that jhead.exe=missing & jpegtran.exe=missing
any ideas about this message?

Any help would be appreciated.
RJ

Phil Harvey

  • ExifTool Author
  • Administrator
  • ExifTool Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 14879
    • ExifTool Home Page
Re: Apply workspace defaults to a new file
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2019, 07:04:58 AM »
The defaults should be in an ExifToolGUI.ini file somewhere.

You should install jhead and jpegtran if you want to get rid of these messages.  See the manual for details.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

touchofart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Apply workspace defaults to a new file
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2019, 02:42:41 PM »
Thank you Phil for the reply,

What are these programs for?  Would they fix my problem?

I know you don't support 3rd party software, anyone out there has ideas how to do what I want to do in the GUI, or if you can give me a command line example that would do my task in ExifTool.

Regards,
RJ

Alan Clifford

  • ExifTool Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 390
    • A selection of Alan Clifford's photographs
Re: Apply workspace defaults to a new file
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2019, 04:51:04 PM »
I use jpegtran to rotate jpegs and convert them to progressive for my website.   https://linux.die.net/man/1/jpegtran

I don't use jhead any more as I use exiftool!   https://www.systutorials.com/docs/linux/man/1-jhead/