Author Topic: Newbie getting the hang of it! Quickest way of running a batch?  (Read 241 times)

b3nb123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
I've just looked into using ExifTool to open RAW files from the Fujifilm X-H1 in Lightroom 6.14 (The last version of Lightroom before the subscription plans)

I struggled to understand how to run exiftool, I know it's supposed to be run in command line, or terminal. I'm sure this is probably the most asked newbie question! Please, can anyone point out a nice newbie guide for learning how to run this software?

I did find ExiftoolGUI, and managed to run a script I found the code for     - exiftool -model="X-T2" *.RAF     which worked, Lightroom thought the X-H1 files were from an X-T2 (The two cameras do share the same sensor) and did open them, I was able to edit them and export them. All worked fine, Exiftool is a great solution to quite a major problem I was about to have!

This process would be something I'll do a lot now I use this camera, so can someone talk me through the best workflow, any simple way of dragging and dropping, or any super quick way of processing a whole folder to change the camera model like this? Looks like I can get it to work, but by copying and pasting text I've saved etc, would be lovely to have some sort of executable or batch file to  quickly set to work!

Any help appreciated!

Phil Harvey

  • ExifTool Author
  • Administrator
  • ExifTool Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 14425
    • ExifTool Home Page
Re: Newbie getting the hang of it! Quickest way of running a batch?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2019, 08:49:46 AM »
This may be the easiest way for you:

1. Rename "exiftool(-k).exe" to "exiftool(-model='X-T2' -ext raf -k).exe".

2. Drag and drop folders containing RAF images onto the renamed app.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

b3nb123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
Re: Newbie getting the hang of it! Quickest way of running a batch?
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2019, 08:59:57 AM »
Amazing! Exactly what I was looking for- Thanks for that. Such a simple addition to my workflow it'll be no bother at all!
Is there a command to stop it from producing the _original backup files?

b3nb123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
Re: Newbie getting the hang of it! Quickest way of running a batch?
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2019, 09:19:07 AM »
If it's in a folder with RAF fuji raws and NEF Nikon raws, will it only affect the fuji?

Phil Harvey

  • ExifTool Author
  • Administrator
  • ExifTool Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 14425
    • ExifTool Home Page
Re: Newbie getting the hang of it! Quickest way of running a batch?
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2019, 09:23:16 AM »
Yes, it will only process RAF files because I added -ext raf to the arguments.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

b3nb123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
Re: Newbie getting the hang of it! Quickest way of running a batch?
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2019, 09:57:39 AM »
Phil, that's amazing, thanks. What does the -k mean?

Phil Harvey

  • ExifTool Author
  • Administrator
  • ExifTool Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 14425
    • ExifTool Home Page
Re: Newbie getting the hang of it! Quickest way of running a batch?
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2019, 09:59:11 AM »
All of the options are explained in detail here.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

b3nb123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
Re: Newbie getting the hang of it! Quickest way of running a batch?
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2019, 10:04:29 AM »
Amazing, thanks Phil, what a great tool!

b3nb123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
Re: Newbie getting the hang of it! Quickest way of running a batch?
« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2019, 09:08:12 AM »
My tests all worked, until I tried doing the exif change for real, and got the following error:

Code: [Select]
Error renaming temporary file to C:/Users/ben/Desktop/Beth/DSCF9814.RAF
Warning: [minor] RAF version 0201 not yet tested - C:/Users/ben/Desktop/Beth/DSCF9814.RAF

Any idea?

Phil Harvey

  • ExifTool Author
  • Administrator
  • ExifTool Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 14425
    • ExifTool Home Page
Re: Newbie getting the hang of it! Quickest way of running a batch?
« Reply #9 on: April 01, 2019, 09:12:11 AM »
Send me a sample version 0201 RAF file and I'll test it to be sure nothing has changed.  (my mail is phil at owl.phy.queensu.ca)  Fuji hasn't changed the RAF format in a long time, so it is probably fine.

The rename error is likely due to a permission problem.  Be sure you have write permission for the file and directory.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

b3nb123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
Re: Newbie getting the hang of it! Quickest way of running a batch?
« Reply #10 on: April 01, 2019, 09:23:11 AM »
Thanks Phil, I did encounter a weird Windows 10 'You Need Permission to Copy' Message, so I'll assume it's that and try again before I think it's a real problem

Phil Harvey

  • ExifTool Author
  • Administrator
  • ExifTool Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 14425
    • ExifTool Home Page
Re: Newbie getting the hang of it! Quickest way of running a batch?
« Reply #11 on: April 01, 2019, 10:00:29 AM »
Got it, thanks.  The "not yet tested" warning will be removed for RAF version 0201 files in ExifTool 11.34.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

b3nb123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
Re: Newbie getting the hang of it! Quickest way of running a batch?
« Reply #12 on: April 01, 2019, 10:16:29 AM »
Thanks Phil, so you got it to work? Weird how my test pictures earlier in the week worked but ones I tried today didn't!
Is there a working Exiftool I can use?
Appreciate your help!

Phil Harvey

  • ExifTool Author
  • Administrator
  • ExifTool Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 14425
    • ExifTool Home Page
Re: Newbie getting the hang of it! Quickest way of running a batch?
« Reply #13 on: April 01, 2019, 10:19:58 AM »
Any recent version of ExifTool will write this file.  The warning is informational only.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

b3nb123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
Re: Newbie getting the hang of it! Quickest way of running a batch?
« Reply #14 on: April 01, 2019, 10:21:17 AM »
But if I drag and drop I get the message that the file was skipped due to the error?
Excuse my inexperience I'm going to try a reboot and see if it helps!

Phil Harvey

  • ExifTool Author
  • Administrator
  • ExifTool Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 14425
    • ExifTool Home Page
Re: Newbie getting the hang of it! Quickest way of running a batch?
« Reply #15 on: April 01, 2019, 10:26:37 AM »
The permission error is unrelated to the "not tested" warning.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

b3nb123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
Re: Newbie getting the hang of it! Quickest way of running a batch?
« Reply #16 on: April 01, 2019, 10:32:48 AM »
OK, rebooted and all is OK! Looks like I either had a weird computer glitch, or (more likely) saw the warning as a failure message!

Phil Harvey

  • ExifTool Author
  • Administrator
  • ExifTool Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 14425
    • ExifTool Home Page
Re: Newbie getting the hang of it! Quickest way of running a batch?
« Reply #17 on: April 01, 2019, 10:35:17 AM »
You did have a glitch with the renaming error that has thankfully disappeared now.
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).